Metis Settlements General Council

The General Council was established to have a land-base in order to provide for the preservation and enhancement of Metis culture and identity, as well as to enable the Metis to attain self-government.

MSGC is the central governing authority of the Metis Settlements. The General Council Assembly is comprised of all eight Settlement councils. Each Council has five members, including the chairperson. The four Executive Officers of MSGC are the President, Vice President, Treasurer and Elected Secretary. They are ex officio non-voting members of the Assembly and are elected to a three year term by the Councils.

The MSGC Board of Directors is comprised of the eight Settlement chairpersons and the four MSGC Executives, who also sit on the Board as ex officio non-voting members.

MSGC makes policies that are binding on the MSGC. Policies are developed in consultation with the Minister of Indigenous Relations, have the same effect as Alberta law and are published in the Alberta Gazette.